Thompson Okanagan Real Estate For Sale by Owner

Okanagan Lake

View looking south from Adventure Bay near Vernon

The Okanagan Valley

The Okanagan Valley of BC is a beautiful place to live.  We have wonderful weather, great scenery and lots of opportunities for outdoor fun.  On this site we advertise Okanagan real estate and homes for sale by owner.

Our valley is situated between the Columbia and Cascade mountain ranges in south central BC.  The landscape of low hills and oblong lakes was formed by glacial activity long ago.   A large glacial lake left many lakes as its legacy.   The largest of these is Okanagan Lake.   Lying in a string to the East are Swan, Kalamalka and Wood lakes, to the South lie Skaha, Vaseaux and Osoyoos Lakes.

The valley has a hot, sunny, dry climate created by the shadow of the Cascade mountains.   Most of the Okanagan Valley receives about 2000 hours of sunlight per year and 30-40 cm. of precipitation.  The southern valley around Vaseaux Lake gets less than 30 cm. of precipitation and is desert like with rattlesnakes, cactus and painted turtles.

The Okanagan Valley contains the largest population in the interior of BC.   The largest centres are Kelowna, Vernon and Penticton.   Enderby and Armstrong lie in the dairy and vegetable growing region of the northern valley and Okanagan Falls, Oliver and Osoyoos in the dry fruit growing area south of Penticton.

Many people view the Okanagan as an ideal place to live.   It is a great place to retire, spend a vacation or raise a family.   As the news of our mild winters, hot summers and recreational paradise spreads more people want to live here.  The Kelowna Real Estate market has been very active since 2003.  Vernon Real Estate is also experiencing higher volumes of home sales.

See our pages on Kelowna, Vernon, Salmon Arm, Penticton, Peachland, Falkland and Armstrong for information about those cities.  Below we have some links to web sites to help you explore what the Okanagan has to offer.  General travel guides for all of BC, including the Okanagan, can be found at BCadventure.com or BCtravel.com.

British Columbia is broken into 27 regional districts.  Much more information about each area in the Okanagan is available from the Regional Districts.

  • The North Okanagan Regional District includes the Cities of Armstrong, Enderby and Vernon; District of Coldstream; Village of Lumby; Township of Spallumcheen and surrounding Electoral Area's B, C, D, E and F.
  •  The Central Okanagan Regional District is made up of three unincorporated electoral areas and the three member municipalities of Kelowna, Peachland and Lake Country.
  • The Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen is located in south central British Columbia on the United States border. Within the district you find the City of Penticton; District of Summerland; the towns of Oliver, Osoyoos. Princeton; and the Village of Keremeos.
  • Salmon Arm, Shuswap Lake and Mara Lake are not strictly part of the Okanagan, they are part of the Columbia Shuswap Regional District.

Take a Photo Tour of the Okanagan/Shuswap.

Okanagan Golf     
Okanagan Agriculture

Kelowna, BC

View towards Kelowna from the west side of Okanagan Lake


©2017 OKHomeseller Ltd. |   For Sale By Owner Real Estate